Martial Arts Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for students and teachers of all martial arts. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Given the Shin A Lam controversy, I decided to look up the rules for the appeals process.

The technical rules I found on the British Fencing website indicate that a point of fact can not be appealed. A couple news reports indicated that Shin A Lam's appeal was rejected on those grounds.

What is a point of fact in fencing parlance? I'm assuming it's jargon because the situation doesn't make sense when interpreted in plain English.

share|improve this question
I don't understand why it doesn't make sense? Point of fact – Actuality, Occurrence. Whether the time ran out or was reset, the point was scored while time was on the clock. Frankly, after fencing through high school, I believe she should have remained en garde until the match was called, time or no. – stslavik Aug 1 '12 at 17:23
@stslavik To a non-fencer, the term is jargon. I understand that it is analogous to normal use after your description, but as an outsider, I certainly don't see the technical implications. That said, I think the OP needs to be more explicit with the background. What is the controversy? What happened, and how is "point of fact" a relevant term? – Dave Liepmann Aug 1 '12 at 17:39
It doesn't make sense because the timing error is an actuality and occurrence as well. – Robin Ashe Aug 1 '12 at 19:47
Can someone point out a specific article that discusses the term "point of fact" in context of this controversy? – David H. Clements Aug 8 '12 at 18:38… – Robin Ashe Aug 8 '12 at 18:50

Found this explanation on a fencing website:

In foil and saber there is a rule called right of way, or priority, which claims only one person may develop an attack at a time. If both fencers are touched it is up to the referee to decide which fencer will be awarded the touch and why. Difficulty arises when the priority relationship between the fencers becomes confused. Each person is struggling to gain control of the attacking initiation. If sharp swords were used the truth would become apparent, but with dummy tips understanding this is a subtle matter. The rulebook has a standard explanation that the referee follows when arbitrating who will be awarded a touch. However: each referee and each fencer may judge events a bit differently. When a fencer does not agree with a referee’s call there is little he can do unless the referee said something which was unclear, or contrary to his own logic. It doesn’t matter if both fencers think they performed in a way completely opposite to the referee’s opinion - so long as the description of the fencing phrase is clear the referee’s judgement is the final say in the matter.

In the rulebook this decision is called a point of fact. There is no appeal for this. However; “if the referee is ignorant of or misunderstands a definite rule, or applies it in a manner contrary to the Rules, an appeal on this matter may be entertained.” (Fencing Rules, 2000 Edition, t.122, t.96b) To make an appeal the plaintiff should courteously inform the director that he would like to make an appeal before the bout committee. Right then and there the bout committee will decide on the issue. The fencer making an appeal on a point of fact, or anything else for this matter should use discretion, since both the referee and the bout committee can penalize a fencer for an Unjustified appeal t.122, Delaying the bout t.31, or Refusal to obey the Referee t.82, t.84.

So if I understand it correctly, the referee judged and called the point correctly, and since he followed the rule book it can't be challenged, despite the failure of the external equipment.

Edit: Just as a note, the rule book for USA Fencing is 230 pages long. That's about the longest rule book I've ever seen.

share|improve this answer
In this particular instance, it was epee rather than foil or saber, and simultaneous touches cancel each other out. – Robin Ashe Aug 1 '12 at 23:01
@RobinAshe - Oh, yah, thanks for the clarification. I missed that (The epee vs foil/saber). – JohnP Aug 2 '12 at 15:32

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.