Martial Arts Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for students and teachers of all martial arts. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I am worried about getting disqualified for applying an anaconda choke to an opponent in the turtle position (on all fours). I know this choke is allowed in no-gi, but will referees think I'm doing a neck-crank if I try it in gi?

share|improve this question
Do you mean under IBJJF rules? – chobok Feb 4 '14 at 10:58
up vote 1 down vote accepted

Completely legal in all GI based competitions that I've seen. As long as it's not mistaken for a neck crank (doubt it - but you never know how terrible the ref is) it should be fine. I've seen people DQ'd for baratoplata's which were mistaken for a bicep slicer.

share|improve this answer
Mike the baratoplata was my next question. You answered it :p – I See Sharp Feb 5 '14 at 7:04

Anaconda, Brabo, D'Arce style chokes are harder to pull off in gi because friction acts against getting the crucial deep arm position. But there's no reason for them to be illegal. It isn't a neck crank. That doesn't stop a referee from thinking, wrongly, that it is a neck crank, but I haven't heard of that being common.

share|improve this answer

Yes it is legal in GI based competition.

Like Mike66350216 said, it "could" be mistaken for a neck crank, but most referees are aware of this.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.