I am worried about getting disqualified for applying an anaconda choke to an opponent in the turtle position (on all fours). I know this choke is allowed in no-gi, but will referees think I'm doing a neck-crank if I try it in gi?

  • 1
    Do you mean under IBJJF rules?
    – chobok
    Feb 4, 2014 at 10:58

3 Answers 3


Completely legal in all GI based competitions that I've seen. As long as it's not mistaken for a neck crank (doubt it - but you never know how terrible the ref is) it should be fine. I've seen people DQ'd for baratoplata's which were mistaken for a bicep slicer.

  • Mike the baratoplata was my next question. You answered it :p
    – Tassisto
    Feb 5, 2014 at 7:04

Anaconda, Brabo, D'Arce style chokes are harder to pull off in gi because friction acts against getting the crucial deep arm position. But there's no reason for them to be illegal. It isn't a neck crank. That doesn't stop a referee from thinking, wrongly, that it is a neck crank, but I haven't heard of that being common.


Yes it is legal in GI based competition.

Like Mike66350216 said, it "could" be mistaken for a neck crank, but most referees are aware of this.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.