Somewhat recently I was at a somewhat major (national-level, so the referees were competent) karate tournament which used the standard WKF rules when it comes to scoring.
While watching others fight, I noticed that not a single time I had seen an Ippon being awarded for a technique on a fallen opponent. I did see a few Ippons being awarded for kicks to the head, but not a single occasion for the second category, despite having seen quite a few people having fallen / thrown to the ground.
Now my questions is:
Is there a "common" (?) interpretation of the standard rules that heavily discourages awarding Ippons on fallen opponents or is it more likely that more often than not some of the other scoring requirements are not met by the attacker when attacking a target at this "weird" position?
For reference: The current official Kumite rules (PDF, Article 6 on page 10 is most relevant).